How to repair a camera lens

WARNING: the following may contain painful images for some viewers. Viewer discretion is advised.

YOUTUBE made it look so easy, you un-screw this, detach that, and voila! You have repaired a broken camera lens. My 200 mm Sigma lens stopped working, no auto-focus or manual focus, I had to see if I could repair it myself, after all I am kind of handy at ­­these things.

lens5

lens6

Fingerprint

Damn!

After some time I found myself deep in a labyrinth of screws, O-rings, connectors, corridors of despair, deceit, and LIES!!!

Arms stretched out to the sky, “Damn you YOUTUBE!” Suddenly, a horrible realization that no man wants to admit, ever, “I can’t fix this!” There were so many pieces and parts, carnage was everywhere.

lens7

Downtrodden and disappointed, the camera parts placed back in a box and set on top of the bookshelf like an urn with ashes, a staunch reminder to seek out professional help when you need to.

lens8 lens1

However, not all is lost, if I sell a kidney I can buy that shiny new Sigma 500 mm lens, oh for joy! Word of advice; Don’t believe everything you see on YOUTUBE…

4 thoughts on “How to repair a camera lens

  1. Will Ravenel

    Hey, Dave. I enjoyed perusing your photos. Reminds me of our travels in Japan a lifetime ago. Remember our bike ride up to that hill-top park in Sasebo? I thought you were going to kill me for getting you into that. I’ve subscribed to see future posts. Let me know if you get down to Charleston before your return to Asia. Take care old friend.

    Will R.

    Reply
    1. Dave Post author

      Will!!!
      Thanks for viewing and putting up with my miss-spelled words. I had to go back and revise. Yeah i remember Japan, good times back then… We will be down your way next year, we are driving down to Florida to see my brother, i’ll keep you posted.
      Dave

      Reply
    1. Anonymous

      Hey Matt!!! Yes i got the Sigma 150 to 500 lens … it’s not bad, F5 so it replaces the 200 mm piece of shxt… you got new aerials ???

      Reply

"Like" this post or Leave a Reply

