When East meets West not all goes well …

A colleague of mine studies the Gu Zheng and I asked if I could join her for a jam, I’ll bring my guitar, maybe play some blues, or some classic Beatles tunes, get in some heavy metal. I could tell my guitar was itching to tango with the Gu Zheng. He was panting as he eyed those 21 strings up and down …

You can see where this is going, when East meets West its best to leave well enough alone.

For example, according to Wikipedia, Wonton Food attempted to expand its fortune cookie business into China in 1992, but gave up after fortune cookies were considered “too American”.

Instrument

Paul Reed Smith Guitar

Gu Zheng

Strings 6 21
Frets 22 ???
Wood Rosewood, Maple, Mahogany Wu Tung wood, A well aged wood giving superior sound.

Well like the fortune cookie it was a complete disaster, my guitar was from the backstreets of NC with a 3rd grade education, the elegant Gu Zheng had years of practice and a proper upbringing.

It just didn’t happen between them but I learned a lot about the Gu Zheng and I was even invited to the studio where my colleague practices.

The guitar, love struck and humbled,  battered and beaten waits for another time.

10 thoughts on “When East meets West not all goes well …

  1. Anonymous

    I found a link of Gu Zheng music: it has a rich, full sound, but isn’t in the same key of Western instruments, is it? I’d imagine it would be difficult to get a guitar and a Gu Zheng to blend.

    Reply
    1. Dave Post author

      THank you,
      The guzheng’s pentatonic scale is tuned to Do, Re, Mi, So, and La, but Fa and Ti can also be produced by pressing the strings to the left of the bridges. (Wiki).
      Dave

      Reply
  2. boyelroy

    That is beautiful! I didn’t know u played guitar! Good for u for taking it traveling because it’s not easy to travel with a guitar!

    Sent from my iPhone

    Reply

"Like" this post or Leave a Reply

