Getting Married at the Thean Hou Temple, Kuala Lumpur

Ms. E, notorious partner in wrongdoings, suggested we go to the Thean Hou Temple in Kuala Lumpur, one of the largest Chinese temples in South-East Asia. Located high on a hill, the temple has become the destination for Chinese New Year, the Lantern Festival, and “The” place to get married. Ms. E enquired at the wedding registrars office in the bottom floor about what one needs to do to get wed in the temple.

The lady behind the counter pointed at me and said in Chinese, “You marry him?”

“No, no.” Ms. E laughed.

“You can’t marry him.” The lady pointed at me again with her pencil while giving me an eye full of suspicious looks. “He not Malaysian.”

Ms. E laughed again. “Yes we know.”

Like a guard dog, hands planted on the desk, the lady continued to glared at me with one squinty eye while the other looking me up and down, and again she slowly said, “He not Malaysian.”

Whew well i’m relieved as I eyed the lady back with my best Popeye the Sailor impression…

Cartoonist E.C. Segar

“It’s for my brother!”  Ms. E explained.

As we left with the proper papers in hand I could feel the cold piercing stare on my back. Apparently you have to be Chinese or Malaysian to get married here and one partner has to be of the Taoists faith. “I’m safe.”

WebRep
currentVote
noRating
noWeight
4 thoughts on “Getting Married at the Thean Hou Temple, Kuala Lumpur

"Like" this post or Leave a Reply

