Tea reminds me of the days of running hashish through the mountains of Tibet.

TEA Sucks! Being an American, I don’t drink tea, I never liked it, and it reminded me of a pompous British ritual only to be enjoyed with a crumpet. (What the hell is a crumpet anyway?) The stuff is bland, no caffeine kick, sipping and slurping with a pinky in the air, it’s an abomination! And Lipton!  Monopolizing the US and squeezing out competitors while peddling their bland mix of crap!

And Southern tea! Conspiracy created by the sugar industry I tell ya!                                Ok, ok, calm is in order here. Calm …

Well I have to confess Tea does not suck. The leaf of the Camellia sinensis plant has built nations, crumbled monarchies, and brings pleasure to millions of people around the world, be it 4pm in the afternoon or 24/7, tea is timeless. My outlook on tea has changed so much I even look forward to a cup in the afternoon everyday.

And a cup we have …

South East Asia has some of the best tea in the world. There are at least six different types of tea: white, yellow, green, oolong, black, and the most expensive is the post-fermented teas, more on that one in a minute.

Tea reminds me of the days of running hashish through the mountains of Tibet. No, just kidding, never did that, won’t admit to it, forget i said that, but my love of tea started with this little antique tea pot months ago when I bought it for my best friend Donna who collects tea pots. I hope to finish the tea post in three, so bare with me as we follow this teapot and a few examples of some wonderful teas and a visit to the tea country in Malaysia.

4 thoughts on “Tea reminds me of the days of running hashish through the mountains of Tibet.

  1. Colleen

    David and I drink a few cups of green tea everyday! There are so many health benefits. But don’t worry, David didn’t drink green tea until he met me. Now he loves it! Glad you fell in love too!

    Reply

"Like" this post or Leave a Reply

