Penang Island, Malaysia – parting shots

This is my last post on Penang and I just want to mention that the people of Penang are an inviting breed of humanity, friendly, ancient in origin, and multi-cultural as it gets in any place in the world. 

Queen Victoria Clock Tower

As I walked past this man, he greeted me with a good morning and a smile. He owns his own fabric shop in one of the markets and I just had to stop and chat a while. 


These two guys work at the Line Clear food stall and they tapped me on the shoulder and asked if I wanted to take their picture.

When several generations follow the family business there are certain things that are bound to be done right, like the food in Penang. It is understandable and no surprise that people wait for an hour to get the fish head soup at the “Line Clear” or the oyster omelet at the night bazaar along Gurney drive. 

And no one can leave Penang without the world famous Penang biscuit/cracker thing. If you don’t know about them, you do now, because they are world famous, you know. Around for centuries this brand is made from wheat flour, sugar, and green beans.

Speaking of being around for centuries …

Clan Jetties

Small Tin roof homes stretch out over the water perpetuated by the bond of generation after generation of Chinese families. Initially constructed to house the port laborers in the 1800’s, six clans remain and still maintain a life style of working in George Town and living off the sea.

Brain and Shannon, of blog: http://everywhereonce.com/ , once said, “the problem was almost never the destination, but a disconnect between what the destination is, and what the traveler wanted it to be.”        I like that.

6 thoughts on “Penang Island, Malaysia – parting shots

  1. igamotylska

    Great! :) I was in Malaysia (and Penang) nearly two months ago. It’s always great to see photographs from someone else’s perspective. I recognized a few places too!

    Reply
  2. The Onyx Plate

    I’m constantly amazed at the color you capture in Malaysia. It’s absolutely beautiful. That Biscuit/Cracker thingy you educated me about, that I now know, *smiles*, looks right up my alley. Flaky on the outside and soft in the middle. Great pictures….but must we have all of this fish head? *wink*

    Reply
  3. Anonymous

    Hi Dave,
    I’m Susan, your cousin Claude’s wife. I remember meeting you at a concert in Raleigh about ten years ago. Anyway, your mom has been forwarding your postings from Malaysia and I just read the last one of 1/3. I have to compliment you on those fabulous photos – they are quite amazing!

    Reply

"Like" this post or Leave a Reply

